RECIPE: Masi Popo / Masi Samoa (Samoan coconut shortbread)

Masi Popo

The kids love this recipe. My brother and sister-in-law brought some with them from the markets when we were in Samoa last year. I never got to taste it because the kids had finished every biscuit/cookie quick as a flash.

So when Ryan chose Samoa for his International Dinner night, I knew I just had to make some – so at least I could try them.

INGREDIENTS

120gm butter (4½ oz)
2/3 cup white sugar
2 eggs
200ml full coconut milk – not lite! (7 fl oz)
1 tsp vanilla essence or extract
4 cups flour
3 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt

PREPARATION

  1. Heat the over up to about 180˚C (350˚F)
  2. Cream the butter and sugar together well.
  3. Add the eggs one at a time mixing well.
  4. Here comes the magic, add the coconut milk and vanilla, again mixing well.
  5. Now mix in the dry ingredients (flour and baking powder).
  6. The dough may still be a little sticky, so a little more flour may be needed.
  7. Cover your kneading surface with a generous amount of flour so the dough doesn’t stick to in and knead until it’s a nice and even consistency.
  8. I pinch of about a third of the dough and roll out onto lightly floured baking paper (so I don’t have to try to pick up each biscuit/cookie slice from the kneading surface individually)
  9. Roll out the dough until it’s about ¼” (6mm) thick, and cut into 3″ (75mm) squares. I find dipping the knife in flour every so often helps to keep it from sticking to the dough.
  10. Then just pick up your baking paper at the edges and place it onto your over tray and cook for about 25 minutes, or till just golden brown (a little browner than they appear in the photo above) The squares when cooled should be quite hard, not soft like biscuits, and have a nice “snap” when broken.

Sam and Ryan’s Rating 10/10



9 thoughts on “RECIPE: Masi Popo / Masi Samoa (Samoan coconut shortbread)

  1. I ran across this recipe but it did not give the ingredients. Then I found a recipe that called for 5lbs of flour….then I found your site. Thank you for breaking it down in reasonable amounts. I did have to add almost another cup of flour for it not to be sticky. I wonder if I should have added a bit more sugar just to sweeten them a tad more. Anyhow, I made them for my sons school because they are studying the islands of the world and our food to make is South Pacific. My son wants to eat them all! So, I need to keep my eye on him. ;)

  2. I wanted to add that I rolled them and baked them on parchment and that worked great. Also, I used a pizza cutter and it worked like a charm! ….and I think I should have added a bit more butter and coconut for more of that flavor. I will have to perfect this recipe…yummy!

Leave a Reply

