Greenlandic shopping list (minus the whale skin, seals and caribou)

It’s a lovely sunny day here, you’d hardly know it was summer (our summer has been mostly rain this year, with some sun sprinkled in occasionally to raise our hopes).

It’s a good day to fill this Greenlandic Shopping list I made last night.

Whale skin
Seal
Caribou 

Venison (phew… reindeer substitute)
Pearled Barley
Cherries
Blueberries
Wild Mushrooms
Grand Marnier (now we’re talking!)
Salmon
Halibut
Rosemary
Sage
Thyme

and the rest we luckily have in our pantry – just as well you can’t buy Whale meat here, the last thing I need is Lucy Lawless and the rest of Greenpeace blocking my driveway.

2 thoughts on “Greenlandic shopping list (minus the whale skin, seals and caribou)

    • Hi Peach Farm… not quite – the whale meal is basically raw whale skin and blubber (availibility aside), if I could get my children to eat that the dinner time battle would have been won I think, but since that meal is basically only whale I don’t think I could substitute anything for it… so I opted for the soup that could have either, Reindeer, Seal, or whale as the meat, and opted for the deer – hence the venison on the list.
      Halibut apparently is only occasionally available down here in New Zealand, and today when I rang, it wasn’t. 😦 So a subsititute….)

Leave a Reply

